What Is Personal Injury Protection?
Personal Injury Protection (PIP), also called “no-fault coverage,” covers medical expenses after an accident regardless of who is at fault. It is an extension to car insurance which covers medical expenses and lost wages.
If you are injured in a car accident in Florida and have PIP coverage as part of your insurance plan, you are entitled to receive full benefits up to $10,000, regardless of who is at fault for the accident.
PIP insurance can also cover expenses such as transportation for medical purposes.
PIP is mandatory in Florida, along with 13 other states. These states choose to make PIP mandatory to try to limit the number of lawsuits filed against at-fault drivers. PIP insurance removes the question of blame for a car accident by using each driver’s policy to pay for the damages to each driver’s individual needs.
What Does PIP Cover?
PIP insurance pays for 80% of your medical bills, and 60% of your lost wages, for a total of up to $10,000. The rest of the expenses are out-of-pocket, unless recovered from the driver who caused the accident.
Please note that PIP benefits are only available if you seek treatment within 14 days of the accident. Waiting past the deadline strips away those benefits.
PIP will cover any accident or injury that involves a vehicle, regardless of whether the victim was on a bicycle, on foot, rollerblades, etc.
Unfortunately, the $10,000 PIP coverage can often be used up before a victim is out of the hospital.
Having a lack of coverage can leave you stuck with piles of bills and lost income. It is important to choose the right coverage to avoid getting stuck with hundreds, thousands, or even hundreds of thousands in medical bills.
In addition to PIP, Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage can help you stay protected. It is an extension to your insurance policy in Florida but is not required. It is recommended you choose to add the option to add UM coverage to your insurance policy since it provides great benefits at little additional cost.
When making insurance decisions, be sure to discuss all of the options with your insurance agent and educate yourself so that you can make the best decision for your specific circumstances.
If you or a loved one has been involved in an accident, contact Armour Law Group, Lake Nona personal injury attorneys. You only have 14 days to report an injury after an accident. We will take prompt action to ensure you get the full benefits and you aren’t left with out-of-pocket expenses. We’re here to help you help you so you can get back to your daily life.